Ernst A. Rodin Distinguished Fellowship

Dr. Ernst A. Rodin (1925-2017) was internationally known for his work in epilepsy and was actively publishing and submitting new research papers until the day before his passing in February 2017. Dr. Rodin was a true renaissance man, always questioning and testing himself and others in order to improve people’s lives. In an award acceptance address in 2014, he spoke directly to the younger generation of physicians and said "Ars longa vita brevis, and . . . brand new information will not be welcomed with open arms." To follow new ideas and concepts, Dr. Rodin believe that one always should keep an open mind, be skeptical, but never cynical.

The mark Dr. Rodin has left on the neurosciences, especially in the areas related to analysis of EEG and MEG brain signals, is indelible and will long live as a testament to his unfailing dedication to the field. He was especially encouraging to young clinical investigators who wanted to try out a new technique or gather new data.

To further his mission and to insure that his remarkable contributions will not be forgotten, the American Clinical MEG Society (ACMEGS) and the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society (ACNS) have jointly established the ACMEGS/ACNS Ernst A. Rodin Distinguished Fellowship. The fellowship will be awarded annually, pending receipt of qualified applications, and will be structured as a scientific observership, followed by a travel grant to attend the ACNS/ ACMEGS Annual Meetings:

  • Funding in the amount of $2,500 will be available to support the recipient’s travel to a research center (2-4 weeks duration), where the recipient intends to learn a new skill or complete a project directly related to the recipients long-term career goals.
  • An additional $1,000 in travel funds will be available following that observership for the recipient to attend the ACNS and ACMEGS Annual Meetings, contingent on the recipient having submitted an abstract to the ACNS Annual Meeting that is accepted for poster presentation.
  • To qualify, applicants must be currently enrolled in or within five (5) years of completion of an epilepsy or central clinical neurophysiology fellowship.
Download the Application Form

Application Timeline

Call for Applications October 15, 2022
Application deadline January 15, 2023
Selection of the recipient January 15, 2022
Notification/Announcement of the recipient February 1, 2023
Suggested fellowship completion date September 1, 2023
Abstract submission October 15, 2023 for 2024 Annual Meetings
Abstract acceptance notification December 1, 2023 for 2024 Annual Meeting
Poster abstract presentation ACNS/ACMEGS 2024 Annual Meetings
February 28 - March 3, 2024
Orlando, Florida, USA